Antimarxist Psychotherapy

The Development of Europe since the French Revolution

The following synopsis is from the year 2019.

When Charlemagne was crowned Roman Emperor in 800, a period of political stability lasting about a thousand years followed. Stable in this context does not necessarily mean peaceful; there have been many wars. But the social order was clear, there was a spiritual hierarchy with the Pope at the top and a secular hierarchy with emperors, kings, princes and serfs at the bottom. This was also not doubted.

With the American Revolution in the second half of the 18th century, a republic arose on the North American continent in which all light-skinned citizens were free and equal. This was followed by the French Revolution, which transformed France into a republic of this kind. As with all revolutions, the French Revolution also contained the danger that a power-hungry sociopath could seize leadership in the country. This actually happened in the person of Napoleon Bonaparte. The Napoleonic Wars led to the dissolution of the Holy German Nation; at the Congress of Vienna a post-war monarchist order was adopted. But the fire of the revolution was kindled; the nationalities in Hungary and other Austrian crown countries brought about "reconciliation". With the victory of the Germans in the Franco-German war of 1871, the second German Empire was finally founded, which now sought overseas colonies and was therefore perceived as a threat by the English in particular. The Englishmen, who at that time ruled the founding world empire of all time, joined forces with the French and the Russians against the Germans. The tensions increased, and it was clear that they would eventually unload. When the Austrian heir to the throne was murdered in 1914, a chain reaction of mutual declarations of war led to the First World War.

The result of the war was that Germany, Austria and Russia became republics or a Soviet republic. Large parts of Europe were now republican. However, the democratic system proved unstable, with dictators coming to power in many of the young republics. Dissatisfaction with the Versailles peace dictatorship, which had brought much hardship and misery to the German population, led to Hitler's election as Reich Chancellor. He started the Second World War, a consistent continuation of the First World War.

When Germany was defeated once again, the winners divided Europe; the communist-ruled Soviet Union, which had emerged from the Russian tsarist empire, wanted to increase its sphere of influence in Eastern Europe. After all, almost the entire Eastern bloc was under Soviet yoke; the border between East and West ran through the middle of Germany. At the same time the construction of NATO and the European communities began in the West.

1989 brought the turning point; predominantly peaceful revolutions in Eastern Europe brought about the resignation of the communist governments and the holding of free elections. In the 1990s, the European Communities were transformed into the European Union, which also Austria joined; the common currency, the Euro, was introduced in 2002, and from 2004 the accession of Eastern European countries to the Union followed. Then, however, in 2008, the great financial crisis came, triggered by irresponsible business in the United States - banks had given loans to private individuals for the construction of homes, although they knew that they would never repay the loans, and resold these loans to unsuspecting European banks. In addition, there was the sovereign debt crisis, which particularly affected countries such as Portugal, Italy and Greece; Greece had even joined the euro zone without meeting the so-called Maastricht criteria.

The next crisis followed in 2015 with the mass influx of refugees, although the phenomenon of mass influx is nothing new; it already existed in the 1990s (Balkan wars). Overall, there was a strengthening of European-critical, "right-wing populist" parties, and Great Britain even voted in favour of leaving the Union ("Brexit").

At the moment there is a clear picture that Europe's leading politicians have no visions. They only have problems and are trying to react, but they don't know where the journey is going. While Helmut Kohl was still talking about a political union to follow the Monetary Union, NEOS is the only party in Austria that still speaks of the "United States of Europe".

Claus Volko, MD MSc


Imprint: This website is owned by Claus Volko, Hungereckstr. 60/2, 1230 Vienna, Austria. No liability is taken for the contents of any of the linked websites. http://www.cdvolko.net/

Antimarxistische Psychotherapie

Die Entwicklung Europas seit der Französischen Revolution

Die folgende Synopsis stammt aus dem Jahr 2019.

Als Karl der Große im Jahre 800 zum Römischen Kaiser gekrönt wurde, folgte eine etwa tausend Jahre lange Periode der politischen Stabilität. Stabil bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang nicht unbedingt friedlich; Kriege hat es jede Menge gegeben. Aber die gesellschaftliche Ordnung war klar, es gab eine geistliche Hierarchie mit dem Papst an der Spitze und eine weltliche Hierarchie mit Kaiser, Königen, Fürsten und den Leibeigenen am unteren Ende. Diese wurde auch nicht angezweifelt.

Mit der amerikanischen Revolution in der zweiten Hälfte des 18. Jahrhunderts entstand auf dem nordamerikanischen Kontinent eine Republik, in der alle hellhäutigen Staatsbürger frei und gleichberechtigt waren. Es folgte die französische Revolution, die Frankreich in eine eben solche Republik umwandelte. Wie alle Revolutionen barg auch die französische die Gefahr, dass ein machthungriger Soziopath die Führung im Lande ergreifen könnte. Dies ist in der Person Napoleon Bonapartes tatsächlich geschehen. Die napoleonischen Kriege führten zur Auflösung des Heiligen Römischen Reiches Deutscher Nation; auf dem Wiener Kongress wurde eine monarchistische Nachkriegsordnung beschlossen. Doch das Feuer der Revolution war entfacht; die Nationalitätenaufstände in Ungarn und anderen österreichischen Kronländern erwirkten den "Ausgleich". Mit dem Sieg der Deutschen im deutsch-französischen Krieg 1871 wurde schließlich das zweite deutsche Kaiserreich gegründet, das nun nach Überseekolonien strebte und deswegen vor allem von den Engländern als Bedrohung wahrgenommen wurde. Die Engländer, die damals das größte Weltreich aller Zeiten beherrschten, verbündeten sich mit den Franzosen und den Russen gegen die Deutschen. Die Spannungen nahmen zu, und es war klar, dass sie sich irgendwann entladen würden. Als 1914 der österreichische Thronfolger ermordet wurde, führte eine Kettenreaktion an gegenseitigen Kriegserklärungen zum Ersten Weltkrieg.

Ergebnis des Krieges war, dass Deutschland, Österreich und Russland Republiken bzw. eine Räterepublik wurden. Große Teile Europas waren nun republikanisch. Das demokratische System erwies sich aber als instabil, in vielen der jungen Republiken kamen Diktatoren an die Macht. Die Unzufriedenheit mit dem Versailler Friedensdiktat, das der deutschen Bevölkerung viel Not und Elend gebracht hatte, führte zur Wahl Hitlers zum Reichskanzler. Dieser startete den Zweiten Weltkrieg, eine konsequente Fortsetzung des Ersten Weltkriegs.

Als Deutschland abermals besiegt war, teilten die Siegermächte Europa auf; die aus dem russischen Zarenreich hervorgegangene kommunistisch regierte Sowjetunion wollte ihre Einflusssphäre in Osteuropa vergrößern. Schließlich stand fast der gesamte Ostblock unter sowjetischem Joch; die Grenze zwischen Ost und West verlief mitten durch Deutschland. Gleichzeitig begann im Westen der Aufbau der NATO und der Europäischen Gemeinschaften.

1989 brachte die Wende; überwiegend friedliche Revolutionen in Osteuropa bewirkten den Rücktritt der kommunistischen Regierungen und das Ausschreiben von freien Wahlen. In den Neunziger Jahren wurden die Europäischen Gemeinschaften in die Europäische Union umgewandelt, der auch Österreich beitrat; 2002 wurde die gemeinsame Währung Euro eingeführt, und ab 2004 folgten die Beitritte osteuropäischer Länder zur Union. Dann jedoch, 2008, kam die große Finanzkrise, ausgelöst durch verantwortungslose Geschäfte in den Vereinigten Staaten - Banken hatten Privatpersonen Kredite für den Bau von Häusern gegeben, obwohl sie wussten, dass diese die Kredite nie zurückzahlen würden, und diese Kredite an ahnungslose europäische Banken weiterverkauft. Hinzu kam die Staatsschuldenkrise, die besonders Länder wie Portugal, Italien und Griechenland betraf; Griechenland war sogar der Eurozone beigetreten, ohne die so genannten Maastricht-Kriterien zu erfüllen.

2015 folgte mit der Massenzuwanderung von Flüchtlingen die nächste Krise, wobei das Phänomen Massenzuwanderung nichts Neues ist; es gab eine solche bereits in den Neunziger Jahren (Balkankriege). Insgesamt kam es zu einem Erstarken europakritischer, "rechtspopulistischer" Parteien, und Großbritannien votierte gar für den Austritt aus der Union ("Brexit").

Momentan zeichnet sich ein Bild ab, dass die führenden Politiker Europas keine Visionen haben. Sie haben nur Probleme und bemühen sich, darauf zu reagieren, doch wohin die Reise gehen soll, wissen sie nicht. War unter Helmut Kohl noch die Rede von einer politischen Union, welche der Währungsunion folgen sollte, ist in Österreich NEOS die einzige Partei, die noch von den "Vereinigten Staaten von Europa" spricht.

Dipl.-Ing. Dr. med. univ. Claus Volko


Imprint: This website is owned by Claus Volko, Hungereckstr. 60/2, 1230 Vienna, Austria. No liability is taken for the contents of any of the linked websites. http://www.cdvolko.net/